VCS Teachers’ Training and Workshop 2009

V – Vacation

C – Church

S – School

“Listen to the Voice of Creation..”

Aloha chika! New blog post again. Just to kill boredom and to train my skills in composing something, I decided to post a blog. So I would like to share and narrate my experiences when I attended my first ever teachers’ training in Bugang, San Miguel, Bohol last April 5-8, 2009. It was one of my memorable moments in life. I experienced a lot of first things when I was there. So let me narrate to you the things that happened from the beginning.

April 5, 2009

I woke up late even if we were in a hurry. So we went to Tagbilaran at exactly 7:25 a.m. via Public Van. Before going to the city, My cousins Alyssa, Sheenan and my beloved mommy Mec planned to meet in the Loon Public Market at 6:30 a.m. Unfrotunately, I woke up late and they can’t just simply go ahead because I have the fund for the travel. I was scolded by my aunt for being late.huhuhu.:( We arrived at Dao Terminal at 8:15 a.m. Instead of riding the Gigantic buses going to San Miguel, we hitched a ride with the current CM of Bohol. We rode the BCI car for free so we don’t need to use up a lot of money. We really saved a lot. Unfortunately again, we need to wait for the BCI van for a while because they need to do some tiny preparations and polishing of the stationaries needed for the worshop. During the stay in the terminal, we met the two delegates/future teachers from UCCP-Limokon, Dimiao. John Reeve which was one of our friends and cuz Sheenan’s bro together with Ate Jeaniza met us at the Dao terminal. We did a lot of kantyawan and whatsoever.lol. By the way, being late was a blessing in disguise also. Try to see, we still waited a few hours in the terminal. Hahaha. So VANITY STRIKES.

Here are some of the captured moments at Dao Terminal.

TRES MARIAS!

TRES MARIAS!

3 Musketeers of Badbad

3 Musketeers of Badbad

Pokky nuts

Pokky nuts

So, those were the pieces of crap we did in the terminal.lol. So approximately 12 noon, we arrived! Weee! So we were one of the earliest delegates to arrive . Then as the minutes went by, more and more delegates from different UCCP churches all over Bohol arrived. 12 noon, means LUNCH! Our food was “inun-unan” na fish. It was wholesome anyway. Here are some of the wacky images we captured while eating lunch.

See? Me and my cousins can eat with the use of our hands. We are not maartes!

See? Me and my cousins can eat with the use of our hands. We are not maartes!

Go cousins!

Go cousins!

Hahaha. 🙂 I love those pics above. I was the one who took it actually but afterwards, I joined them with their kalukuhan. Hahaha.. So after the lunchtime, we started the Opening Worship. The 3 musketeers were assigned to do something again — as usual. The 3 of us were asked to present the 4 elements (wind, light,water, soil) as the central idea of the VCS 2009. Alyssa was asked to be the Liturgist of the worship and I was asked to read a long essay about the environment. It was a bizarre! lol. It was so embarassing on the moment when the 3 of us were asked to represent the various elements. We did a lot of laughing moments because of the something really funny which I can’t tell you why. It is between the 3 of us cousins but, ok I’ll give you a hint “HEALING” . Here are some of the images during the opening worship.

Opening Worship

(L-R) Pastor Juvy, Cuz Aly and me

(L-R) Pastor Juvy, Cuz Aly and me

With the Tagbilaran delegates on the right side.

With the Tagbilaran delegates on the right side.

This was the time when we were LOL-ING.

This was the time when we were LOL-ING.

After the worship, we proceed to the theme exposure brought by Rev. Andy Golosino.

Rev. Golosino expounded the theme

Rev. Golosino expounded the theme

The theme for the VCS 2009 was “Listen to the Voice of Creation. .” After the theme exposure, it was KTV hour then dinner! Here are another crimes that we did during the dinner break.

A lot right? Guess where did we took those? Hahaha. CHURCH KITCHEN! Patay gutom ever since. lol.

After eating our dinner, we attended the ACQUINTANCE! Wee! During the acquintance, we were asked to pick from the draw bowl the title of the song we will be singing. Actually we will just hum the tune of it and then you were not the only one who was able to pick that song. You need to hum it and search for the same song that a person picked. My song was “This is the Day” After finding all my groupmates, we played the I’m Part of You” game. It was fun! After that we were asked to jot down our first impressions to that person. My oh my, I received a lot of hoax comments. So bad talaga and as far as I observed they wrote a lot of first impression. I tried to compared my tag (because we were asked to wrote it at the back of our tags) to others and mine overcomes theirs. They usually wrote there, smart, pretty, genius, white skin, blah blah, friendly..ALL OF THAT WERE A HOAX!

Here are some of the images during the acquintance.

Searching for our groupmates

Searching for our groupmates

After the talying of the first impressions, we were asked to read it out loud within the group circle and tell them what were the things you want to improve.

Next on the acquintance was the Manual Orientation. After that, the Barangay Captain/church chairman announced what house we were going to stay. Luckily, we stayed in a very comfortable house. The house was so nice and big. The owner was rich and for the first time in any out of town conferences, we slept on a bunkbed with matress! It was cool! Together with Limokon friends and Pastor Juvy and Pastor Geraldine, we slept in one spacious room. After the long and tiring day, we slept already.zzz..Good night!

April 6, 2009

We woke up semi-early. 😦 OMG! Yeah I forgot to tell you, instead of taking a bath inside the house CR we took a bath on an OPEN FIELD! You hear it right, OPEN FIELD! HUHUHU We took a bath with the use of “atabay” located on the side of a crop field. It was cold and EXPOSED. We need to accumulate water before taking a bath. I really learned that “Pag may tiyaga, may nilaga..” The atabay was 10 meters away from the house. Not that far actually. So on the 2nd day was the workshop. Me and mommy were assigned to teach the big kids (not literally big but the age). Me and mommy were in the same group. We were actually grouped to 4. 2 groups for the teachers who will teach little kids and 2 groups for the teachers who will teach big kids. During the workshop, we were asked to display the technique that we will do to teach. The workshop was during the afternoon but during the morning, Pastor Juvy brought the lecture on Ways or Methods of Teaching. BTW, our friend Justin Roa arrived together with Rev. Roa and Yasha!! Weeee! After that, me together with my cousins became closer to him. We were so happy to welcome him and we were so glad also that he slept together with his mom and sister inside the room that we were sleeping! After the whole day of training, we slept already.zzzz

BTW, huhuhu I was chased after by a drunk man. Actually, I went out from the house that we were staying alone because everyone was busy with their visual aids and etc and unfortunately, I need to go out alone to buy myself a bottle of mineral water. Unluckily, I was chased by a drunk guy who stayed nearby the house together with his drunk friends. I really ran with all my might and instead of going to the store, I decided to stay in the church because it was the nearest escape. I just waited for my two cousins who were still not yet done with their lectures. (the 3 of us were separated, I went ahead of them in the house because me and mommy mec’s group finished our group lecture earlier than they did) While waiting, I saw the TUCCP forming a circle. They were talking about creepy stories so I joined them. It was fun hanging out with them. I was shocked with their ages. They were 12-15 years old! They told me that I look mature. They were even shocked when I revealed my real age. Hahaha. They told me that I act like a lady already. After my stay in the church, I went to the house together with cuz Aly and Sheenan and Justin. When we reached the house, we were talking creepy and true to life horror stories with Ate Beth from Sweetland, Buenavista.

April 7, 2009

3rd day already! I attended the hinalangin!

This is it. We were all preparing for the practicum and criticing. I was with Maam Rebecca (from Delapaz) and Ate Nadine (Pob. San Miguel) for the practicum. Actually the group was grouped also to 9. Each of us were assigned to expound 1 session. My session was titled “Look Who’s Talking”.I was really tensed! Here are the pics of the practicum for GROUP 1.

Since I am one of the pasaways, after I performed the practicum I went to the my cousins and group and joined in even if I am not assigned there. Here are their practicums.

With the Group 1 1st honor!

With the Group 1 1st honor!

Session 4 - killing me softly

Session 4 - killing me softly

Group 1 - Crying in the Rain

Group 5 - Crying in the Rain

My belobved cousins group with Justin and Maris

My belobved cousins group with Justin and Maris

Actually during the morning, we attended the JUNK ART brought by an old friend Von Puracan. We were asked to recycle things and made something out of junk. Here were the images.

My group's products

My group

Junk Art Lecture

Junk Art Lecture

After the practicum was the culmination! OMG! Our group performed something unique but very creative presentation. We did a talkshow with a drama. Me and mommy mec were the host/script writer/director. It was fun! We beat the other groups according the the audience. Our topic was pertinent to the soil. Our talkshow was titled ‘SOILAND!”. LOL. After the culmination was the picture taking. I did not attend the picture taking for I was sick.When we reached the house, we all went to the rooftop to talk with each other and savor the last hours in Bugang. the 3 musketeers welcomed Justin Roa a.k.a. baktin and piglet. We made a group called the stargazers society!

New Friend

New Friend

Peggy and Piglet

Peggy and Piglet

Here are the images taken when we were stargazing on the rooftop.

STARGAZERS SOCIETY:

Justin Paul Roa, Sheenan Paul Simporios, Alyssa Ruthe Bunac, Shannen Jaye Langcamon

April 8, 2009

We traveled again for 4 hours and we reached home safely…

HOME SWEET HOME!!!!!!!!!

Busy preparing our preaches for the 7 last words.

Thank you so much to UCCP-Bugang for everything!

Those were all the experiences I have in Bugang, San Miguel that will surely leave a tremor in my mind and heart. As we left the place, another activity worth remembering will start and that is VCS 2009!!

Bye chikkas!

Shannen

Leave a Reply

